ALL THE LATEST NEWS ABOUT THE BUSINESS OF PC GAMES

News

Microsoft set to showcase Xbox Series X gameplay next week

Microsoft set to showcase Xbox Series X gameplay next week

Software and games giant Microsoft has said that it will be showing off its new Xbox Series X console next week.

In a post on Twitter (below), the Big M revealed that it will be holding a special episode of Inside Xbox, in which it will be showcasing gameplay from some of its third-party partners. This will be broadcasted at 4pm BST/11am ET/8am PT on Thursday, May 7th.

French publisher firm Ubisoft has already said that it will be debuting footage of its newly-revealed Assassin's Creed Valhalla at the event.

There's no word on whether any of Xbox Game Studios' first-party developers will be showing their projects at the event. It's rumoured that UK-based Playground Games – of Forza Horizon fame – is working on a new entry in the Fable RPG series, while Microsoft's new Santa Monica studio The Initiative is suggested to be working on an existing Xbox IP, reportedly Rare's shooter Perfect Dark. Oh, and there's also Ninja Theory's recently-revealed experimental horror title, Project Mara, as well as the studio's follow-up to 2017's hit Hellblade.  

Microsoft is having a good time of it at the moment, reporting a record 90m Xbox Live monthly active users – up from the previously-reported 65m – while the company has attracted 10m subscribers to its Game Pass service.


Editor - PC Games Insider

Alex Calvin is a freelance journalist who writes about the business of games. He started out at UK trade paper MCV in 2013 and left as deputy editor over three years later. In June 2017, he was hired to launch PCGamesInsider.biz for Steel Media before departing the firm in October 2019.

He has also written for GamesIndustry.biz, VGC, Games London, The Observer/Guardian and Esquire UK.

Comments

No comments
View options
  • Order by latest to oldest
  • Order by oldest to latest
  • Show all replies