ALL THE LATEST NEWS ABOUT THE BUSINESS OF PC GAMES

News

CD Projekt hackers put Cyberpunk 2077 and Witcher 3 source code up for auction

CD Projekt hackers put Cyberpunk 2077 and Witcher 3 source code up for auction

The source code of Cyberpunk 2077 and The Witcher 3 have been put up for auction by hackers.

That's according to the malware experts over at Vxunderground – as spotted by Tom's Hardware – which says the source code of Cyberpunk 2077 and both versions of The Witcher 3 – the regular edition and a new unreleased version that supports ray-tracing – are up for auction on a site called EXPLOIT. That's on top of internal documents and.... "CD Projekt RED offenses." Um. Okay then. 

The auction opened yesterday (Wednesday, February 10th) at 13:00 Moscow time (10:00 GMT/05:00 EST/02:00 PT) with an opening price of $1 million. Folks can also buy them for a $7 million upfront fee.

Meanwhile, the source code for free-to-play card title Gwent has already been leaked on sites including 4chan and Mega.

It's still not clear who hacked CD Projekt, but whoever is auctioning off source code for the developer's source code on EXPLOIT goes by the name Redengine – a reference to the tech that powers the Polish studio's games.

CD Projekt revealed on Tuesday, February 9th that it had been the victim of a cyber attack and said that whoever was behind it was asking for a ransom. While game data and internal docs – including those relating to accounting, admin, legal, HR and investor relations – the company has said on Twitter that no personal data was stolen as part of this infiltration.


PCGamesInsider Contributing Editor

Alex Calvin is a freelance journalist who writes about the business of games. He started out at UK trade paper MCV in 2013 and left as deputy editor over three years later. In June 2017, he joined Steel Media as the editor for new site PCGamesInsider.biz. In October 2019 he left this full-time position at the company but still contributes to the site on a daily basis. He has also written for GamesIndustry.biz, VGC, Games London, The Observer/Guardian and Esquire UK.

Comments

No comments
View options
  • Order by latest to oldest
  • Order by oldest to latest
  • Show all replies